Communication

When I was in the army, I was with a small unit who were pretty good at telegraphy. As a matter of fact, we were considered to be the few best in Sweden at telegraphy at the time, or at least the few with the highest potential of becoming telly-legends. And that is good, telegraphy is a way to communicate, and communication is good. Bad thing is that morse-code went out of fashion almost a century ago. So even though I’m (or at least was) really good at communicating with telegraphy, I do not have anyone to communicate with since everybody else are using mobile phones and Skype-clones.

S

Trying to participate in a web-meeting today I experienced again what I always experience at those occasions. There is an army of software developed for such meetings, and there seems to be an army of programmers developing new such software continuously, and the meeting is going to take place using one I have never used before (cause there is always a new better software for web-meetings out there than the one we used last week). And everybody else in the meeting seems to be familiar with this new software. What is the best approach? Spend much, I mean much, time trying to prepare and work it out, report sick, or pretend that I am actually an expert on the software but there seems to be something wrong with the connection at Stockholm University today? The days when it was hip to be able to translate what Roger Waters was saying with morse on the album Radio Waves are long gone (if there ever were such days).

